Grunt … Groan … Pant …

Grunt … groan … ugh … pant, pant, pant … shifting a bit … more panting and groaning and finally a deep, deep breath in and I was finally able to lean over far enough to reach down to put my sneakers on. This was May 14, 2006 and I was soon in my doctor’s office as I called and wanted to visit with him about my health.

Later that afternoon I was in my doctor’s office and went through the normal pre-visit stuff. I was weighed, had my temperature and blood pressure taken, and then the game was on. My doctor told me that as of that morning my weight was 328lbs, but my blood pressure and temperature were normal. Hmm … normal is subjective but I was happy with it.

So, the game was afoot. I was sent to a nutritionist, but first went to receive a full blood workup, and found even in the giant water tub my body weight was still 358lbs. Jokingly I said to the nurse, “Are we not lighter in water since we seem to float?” I don’t think that she thought it was funny. But then she told me that my body fat percentage was 28. I am sure that I had the deer-in-headlights look when hearing that 28% of my body was a big tub of goo, and that is why I had so much trouble trying to lace up my sneakers. Oh, but I would have been good for those Jell-O commercials as everyone could definitely “watch it wiggle, see if jiggle”.

Photo of me at nearly 328lbs

Photo of me at nearly 328lbs

On May 15, 2006 I was sitting on the edge of the bed about to put my sneakers on for the day. This time is for something other than just to put the sneakers on and go about my day. I still grunted, groaned, panted, and sucked in as my as I could to reach down and lace up those sneakers. This day I was going to go for a run. I must admit that going for a run is nothing big for most people, and I did not run much that day. Not even sure what I did was called running.

As I sit here writing this bit I am still saddened and amazed at how I had let myself go physically and mentally. Just a time in ones life when not all was going well. But today is a different story and life is something to be enjoyed, and to do so one must grab every moment. Over these three-plus years I have come a long way. As of this morning I weighed in at 181lbs and my body fat percentage is 16.9. Such a grand improvement over the last three years. Outside of what I weigh or my body fat percentage is I am fit and enjoy exercise, uhm, I mean life.

As one reads this the thought comes as to what did I change. Well, I changed everything. No, I did not go on a diet and this is important as diets do not work. One must make a committed lifestyle change. Yes, change everything to be a better person and to be healthy both physically and mentally. If one does not it will take no time and life will be as it was before.

Thinking about this as I write where today. I went for a short 5k (3.1 miles) run early this morning, and clocked that 5k at 29 minutes and 29 seconds giving me just under 10 minute miles. Later today I will put in some time cycling, but be indoors on the CycleOps trainer.

Standing and ready to race

Just before the 2007 Colorfest Biathlon - 225lbs

My first big race was the Union County Colorfest Biathlon in Anna, Illinois. This biathlon begins with a 5k run that has a lot of hills. Once you complete the 5k hop on your bike and head out for a beautiful 17k (29.2 mile) cycling race. My first time out I DNF’d (Did Not Finish) as I had two flats on the cycling leg and only had one extra tube. Still it was a great experience. I have not been back to that biathlon, but it is a fun day.

So what does the future hold? The future is mine and I love each and every day that I lace up my running shoes, or get on my bike. The exhilaration and adrenalin rush is so grand. I would not miss a day or those feelings. While I have only participated in a few 5k and 10k runs, and the Colorfest Biathlon I want to do more. So what does the future hold for this 45 year old? There are marathons, triathlons, and so much more. That is where I am heading. Not because they are there, but because I can. I can do whatever I wish and that is all we need to know … that we can. So get up, get out and enjoy the world. Life is good.

2 Comments

Filed under Fitness, Life, Personal

2 responses to “Grunt … Groan … Pant …

  1. Less than 2 weeks away, it’s time to conquer that DNF.
    October 10th, Anna, Illinois-the 15th Annual Union County Colorfest Biathlon.

    • Hi Chris,

      Thanks for the note of the upcoming Colorfest Biathlon. I was going to participate in the race this year, but work seems to need me this year. I will be back. The Colorfest Biathlon is a great race, and truly one of the better run events. Best wishes for continued success.

Leave a Reply

